Avoiding gluten can be tricky if you're not educated on what foods contain gluten.
Gluten can be found in many products, even in Soy Sauce and Twizzlers candy.
It's VERY IMPORTANT to check all labels to make sure gluten is not in the product. We also avoid products that are manufactured on shared equipment with wheat/gluten containing foods.
There are MANY foods that are NATURALLY GLUTEN-FREE:
- FRESH MEATS - Chicken, Fish, Ground Beef and Pork
- DAIRY PRODUCTS - from cheeses and yogurts
- EGGS - enjoy them any way you like and load them up with cheese and veggies
- GRAINS: Rice, buckwheat, quinoa, corn and millet
Products that GENERALLY CONTAIN GLUTEN and must be marked "Produced in a dedicated Gluten-Free Facility", "Gluten-Free Certified" or it can be labeled "Gluten-Free", but always read the label.
- BAKING MIXES (MUFFINS, COOKIES, CAKES, ETC.)
- OATS (cross contamination, so they must be marked GF)
- SOY SAUCE
- CREAM OF SOUPS
- And more...MUST READ FOOD LABELS!!
Products that may or may not contain GLUTEN, so make sure to read the label or call the manufacturer if needed:
- SAUCES (Like Soy Sauce, you have to find one that says, gluten-free)
- CONDIMENTS (Most ketchups and mustards are gluten-free)
- DRESSINGS (there's so many dressings...)
- PROCESSED MEATS (HOT DOGS, SAUSAGE, BACON AND LUNCH MEAT) - when I go to the grocery store - the deli counter has a sign that says, all their meats and cheeses are gluten-free. But when it comes to the packaged meats, just make sure to read the labels.